The Elisa / Act Test – 1 month later


My Puppies

It’s been a little over a month since I took the Elisa / Act Delayed allergy test and I’m feeling ok.

If you’re new to my blog, check out my previous posts where I give you the entire scoop about the Elisa / Act Allergy test and my results etc.

I’m not gonna lie, it’s been a struggle.  Excluding black pepper and corn from your diet / life is extremely difficult.  Corn is literally in almost everything.  There have been days where I’ve eaten nothing but fruit and eggs because I simply didn’t want to interpret any more labels. Mannitol.  Glycerin.  Citric acid.  Unbelievably these are generally derived from corn.

Has it been worth it?  Yes.  In the beginning, I was feeling really good.  No more headaches, improved muscle tension etc. but then I started to feel crappy again.  Of course I started to wonder if the improvement was psychological but after determining that it wasn’t I started eliminating food and medicines again.  I found a few more offenders that I also eliminated. Cheese, I miss you. 😦  Sigh.   So a few more pounds shed later (I’ve lost over 10 pounds since eliminating corn), I began to feel better again, but never as good as I did for the first two weeks.

Then last night I made a discovery.

Claritin either changed their ingredients or I might have totally missed it all together.  I changed to Claritin redi-tabs at some point post elisa / act results.  I take loratadine (active ingredient in Claritin) twice a day for my uticaria (constant hives).   Claritin’s inactive ingredients are: citric acid, gelatin, mannitol, and mint flavor.  Basically all four of these ingredients either could or do have corn in them.  Sigh.

This is a great discovery because it’s possible that the reason I am feeling ho-hum is because I am still getting corn.  I just need to find another loratadine corn free.  Not as easy and it would seem.  In fact all day, amid mass amounts of scratching, I’ve been trying to find a generic loratadine that is corn free.  Thus far, I’m waiting on a response from various manufacturers and compounding pharmacies (they make drugs for people with specific needs, like allergies).  I might have an go with Target’s generic.

I swear it shouldn’t be this hard.

I sit at John’s very tall table in the dining room while writing these posts.  I sit next to a big window and often see my neighbor playing with her two children.  I know that the grass is always greener but sometimes I look at them and wonder what it would be like to live a life where your body wasn’t betraying you.  But I digress.

So based on the fact that I’m still getting corn in my diet, this is how I’m feeling since cutting out my other delayed allergy triggers. (Tuna, Grapefruit, Cauliflower, Black Pepper, Brown Rice)

  • My constant headache/facial pain has gotten better.  I still get it from time to time but nothing like before.
  • I no longer have really bad days.  I used to have days where my pain was at an 8 or 9.  I haven’t had one of those since cutting out my triggers.
  • I no longer have to put biofreeze all over my neck all the time.  I would put on biofreeze 2-10 times a day, every day.  I still use it occasionally but not with the same frequency.
  • My IBS has stayed under control and improved.
  • I don’t use my heating pad for pain relief nearly as much.
  • I am riding my bike and exercising without incident.  **NOTE.  I stretch before and after exercise which I believe is the main reason I can exercise again.  Visit my Stretching / Yoga page for more info.  This has changed my life.  Seriously.

All in all, I am doing better.  Do I wish I was doing better?  Yes.  But I think I’ll always wish that unless I’m 100% again.  Which will probably never happen.

If I find a loratadine sans corn, I’ll report back when I’m completely allergen free.  For now my opinion is that the Elisa / Act Test is worth trying.  I have noticed definite improvements.  Just cross your fingers that you get something simple.  Like chicken or broccoli.

Yours in exhaustion,

M

This entry was posted in Day to Day, Diet, doctors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

