Abnormal Test Results with Fibromyalgia


John & I at a Wedding in Rhode Island

So I finally had a test come back abnormal. It’s exciting and terrifying all at the same time.  The funny part is that of all the doctors I’ve seen, the doctor who ordered these was an allergist.  Odd.

If you’ve looked at my symptoms page, you’ve probably heard me talk about my dermographism or uticaria.   In case you haven’t, look to your right and check out the scariness that our bodies can produce.  More specifically, the scariness that my body can produce.

I’m currently taking a double dose of 24 hour claritin (one in the morning & one at bedtime) which controls it to a degree.  (And costs a crapload of money)  Basically I’m not crawling out of my skin all the time.  Great.

So I finally went to an allergist and she told me two interesting things.  1.  It is not caused by your typical allergy like pollen or cats (which I already assumed but never had verified) and 2. They usually have no idea what causes it and it will eventually go away on it’s own.  Just to be sure, she wanted to run some more tests.

Penn Health System is pretty high tech and they send you an email when your test results come in.  Frankly I’m surprised they do this since I’m sure they have patients calling them screaming under the assumption that they have cancer because we’re not doctors and we have no idea what the hell we’re looking at.  But I digress.  So anyways.  I’m lying in the bed Friday morning and my phone buzzes.  Low and behold it’s my Penn email.

You have new test results.

Even more amazingly, I did not have to get out of bed as I can pull up my test results on the internet on my phone.  Technology is seriously ridiculous.  How did I ever get through college without a cell phone?  I’m shocked we were ever able to meet up at the mall without missing one another.  But I am again digressing.  Perhaps in an attempt to not deal with my test results.

So.  For the first time ever, a few of my test results came up with the “flag” next to them.  I of course began googling everything figuring out what was going on (after putting a call in to my allergist).  After a chat with my allergist and many hours logged on google, I sit here with a little more information waiting for it to be Monday so I can call my doctor for a referral to an endocrinologist.

The gist of what’s going on is this:  Apparently I have antithyroglobulin antibodies in my blood.  (My allergist had to spell that one for me) Which basically means I have an autoimmune something going on.  She suggested I have hashimoto thyroditis even though my thyroid is currently functioning properly and explained that sometimes people have these antibodies present yet never developed the disease.  I then spent the next 24 hours on google.

This is what I’ve discovered.  It could be a precursor to hashimoto, or lupus, or graves disease or other thyroid things…  OR it could mean absolutely nothing.  Apparently they can be present in healthy people who may or may not develop thyroid disease.  BRILLIANT!

I asked the doctor if this could mean that the fibromyalgia is being cause by this situation or vice versa and she said they probably aren’t connected.  Nor is the pcos.  I might not have mentioned that one.  I recently found out that I have pcos.  But thin person pcos which is apparently very different from the pcos that overweight women have (which is much more common) and explains why non of my doctors were able to diagnose that one for awhile…  It’s been a busy month.  Been processing a lot of information recently.  I’m surprised I’m still sane and that John hasn’t left me.

So.  It appears that I have a large gamut of issues going on and none of them are connected to one another.  Which I find suspect but I have too many other things to figure out to dwell on that one today.

So.  What does this all mean for me? I have no clue.   I’m the type of person who needs a plan of attack.  I need to feel like I’m doing something positive to help the situation.  So my plan of attack is to “fix” my immune system and get it running properly.  An autoimmune disease happens when your body starts attacking itself because it thinks it’s dealing with foreign invaders (just like allergies but on a bigger, badder and deadlier scale) so I need to whip my immune system back into shape.

How am I going to do this?

Well, I already eat more fruits and vegetables than the average american.  Especially since the whole I can’t eat corn thing (which basically means I can’t eat anything) I’ve been eating fruit for breakfast and as a side dish with every meal.  Now I am going to start strategically eating fruits and veges.  There are certain ones with higher levels of different types of phytonutrients (like beta-carotene in carrots) that do wonderful things for our bodies.

Some of these phytonutrients boost our immune system or calm our central nervous system.  I am going to focus on eating fruits and veges that whip our immune system into shape and calm our bodies.  Auto-immune issues are an inflammation in our bodies so I need to counteract that with my daily diet.

Luckily most of the fruits and veges that are the best for us are some of my favorites.   However, the only vegetable I’ve found that literally calms our central nervous system is celery which I find rather depressing since celery is perhaps my least favorite vegetable.  I have a pound of it on my grocery list.  Nobody said this was going to be easy.

Here’s to kicking my immune system’s ass!

Yours in quasi-health,

m

This entry was posted in Diet, doctors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Abnormal Test Results with Fibromyalgia

  1. Vicki says:

    Hi Margo,
    I’ve run across so many FMers with thyroid issues that go undiagnosed just like yours. There’s a whole stream of thought out there that thyroid disease causes FM but most of the people I know don’t find that their FM goes away, just gets a bit better. There’s a natural thyroid supplement but I can’t remember the name of it. You’d find it if you search on FM/thyroid. Do you have a juicer? If not, it’s worth the money to get a nice one – around $200-300. They last for years. I do a great juice of carrots, celery, beets and apples. Sometimes I mess with the 10 pound bag of carrots you get at health food stores, but most of the time I just get the large bottle of Bolthouse carrot juice. Then I juice about 4 stalks of celery, three medium sized peeled beets, and 3 apples. It’s an awesome combination for the immune system and it tastes great. The recipe makes about 6 glasses and I freeze it up in mason pint jars and drink it throughout the week. There are some great juicing books out there. One of my favorite overall nutrition books (lists juices/supplements/food/etc. for illnesses) is RX Prescription for Dietary Wellness by Phyllis and James Balch. They’ve done several great books but this one is a must have. Also, I didn’t mention it the other day, but while you are out there doing searches on the internet, look up Low Dose Naltrexone (LDN) for FM. I started taking it about 16 months ago and have noticed significant improvements in my overall health, energy levels and pain. I call it my “underground medication” because it is used off-label and most physicians know nothing about it and want nothing to do with it, but there is a huge movement across the world to introduce it to the mainstream. It’s difficult finding a doctor to prescribe it but there is a website that lists doctors that will do it. There is also a very informative Yahoo group (LDN for Fibromyalgia) that has a wealth of info and provides a great support group. I was very hesitant to try it, but there are no side effects and after 18 years, you’ll try just about anything 🙂 Just another avenue for you to explore.

    Vicki

    • Margo says:

      Hi Vicki
      Thanks so much for your advice! I love carrot juice and have been drinking it for awhile. I stopped drinking it because I read something about FM and hypoglycemia but have since changed my mind… About the beets. I read somewhere that if you drink excess of beet juice (from raw beets) that it can cause issues like facial paralysis. Have you found this to be true?
      I really appreciate the recipe. I am definitely going to do it.
      I am going to look up LDN. Thanks for the tip!
      m

  2. Vicki says:

    I’ve never had problems with the beets but I only use two medium sized ones because they can ruin the taste of the juice if you use to much. Same with the celery. I’ve tried using lots of celery because it is a cleanser but it can really ruin the taste so I only use two or three stalks.

    Vicki

    • Margo says:

      Thanks for the post! I can barely hack the celery juice. I love carrot juice but no matter what I do the celery still stands out. I normally just drink it as fast as I can. Haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

