Elisa / Act delayed food allergy Test – two weeks later


It’s been 16 days since I’ve tried eliminating the foods that I have sensitivities towards and it’s been a bit of an up and down battle.  In my last post, I wrote about which foods I was sensitive towards and how it might be impossible to get corn out of my diet short of eating only fruits, veges and homemade bread for the next three months.

Initially I was feeling great – better than I have in years but then I started to revert back to the typical feeling like crap all the time. I believe that I was still getting corn in my diet but wasn’t sure how.  I’ve been keeping a detailed list of everything I eat and went back over it and picked out some suspects which I’ve now cut out of my diet.  I’m feeling better again but I’m kinda waiting for the crappy to come back again.  Both John and my mother voiced their concerns that it might simply be Fibromyalgia rearing it’s ugly head and has nothing to do with the food at all.

I really hope they’re wrong.

At this point I’m just not sure.  I believe it’s because I was being exposed to corn in some way and hope that I continue on this path of healing.  Not gonna lie, I’m a little down about it and all I can really do is wait.

Here’s to hope!

Yours in Health (i think)

m

This entry was posted in Day to Day. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Elisa / Act delayed food allergy Test – two weeks later

  1. DisabledMe? says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that you’re not feeling well again. Fibro is such an ugly and evil illness and those of us who are dealing with it (in my opinion) are the strongest people to walk this earth. I’ve heard about all this diet stuff that’s supposed to help with fibro, but since I don’t cook much, I’ve never really tried any of it. I sincerely hope that you feel better and I know that you’ll keep moving towards health. If you ever need someone to talk to, I’m here for you!

    Hoping you the best,
    Leora

  2. Margo says:

    Thanks Leora… I absolutely agree that we are the strongest people who walk (and at times limp) this earth. Fingers crossed!

  3. Vicki says:

    Hello Margo,
    I am 52 years old and have had FM for 18 years. In my case, I’m sorry to report that it has never gone away, but I’ve learned to manage it. I came across your blog because I am about to do the ELISA/ACT test and was looking for patient reviews. It was a pleasant surprise to find your site and read through your postings. I’ve known about the ELISA for 15 years and have always thought it would be a useful tool but all the reviews said it is bogus so I kept pushing the thought aside. But a few months ago, I began taking Claritin for allergies and noticed that my FM pain and sleeping problems began to improve. Which led me back to wondering about food/mold sensitivities. I have my ELISA kit and plan to do my blood draw Monday so I’m looking forward to receiving the results.
    I have a bit of a head start on you with FM research – I’ve been searching for an answer for 18 years. I was fortunate and got a quick diagnosis, mostly because my mother has FM, as does my sister, and several aunts. I’ve tried pretty much every suggestion out there and don’t have any great answers after all these years. I did have to change my career from an administrator sitting at a desk to a teacher moving around in a classroom. It was a wise career move – lots of time off for recovery and rest. I strongly recommend an extra soft tempurpedic type mattress – that provided a lot of relief. If you aren’t opposed to medication, Celebrex is the difference between working a job and not working. I also see a Chiropractor. Really comfortable shoes with memory foam padding and good support helped (someone needs to use the concept of a tennis shoe and make it a dressy work shoe!). I could fill up several pages with things I have tried that didn’t work, but everyone with FM is different and what didn’t work for me, may work for someone else. My FM started around age 28 and was full blown by 34. I’m pretty convinced that hormones play a large role in it as well. But there’s no doubt that FMers are highly sensitive to smells, noises, medications, foods, so I’m interested in learning what the ELISA has to say. I’ll keep checking in on your blog to see how you do. And I’ve been wanting to add yoga to my daily routine for years and your suggestions are inspiring. My best advice, as seems yours, is to keep a positive attitude! My activities are limited but my life is full of love and laughter. And being a “sensitive” has its attributes – I’m far more empathetic than most humans and pretty much always know when the phone is going to ring and who will be on it 🙂 Trust in the process of life. Even an illness as difficult as FM has its purpose and meaning. You’ll be amazed where it leads you.

    Vicki

    • Margo says:

      Hi Vicki.
      Thanks for writing. I would absolutely recommend taking the elisa / act test. My progress has been up and down because one of my triggers is corn and i keep inadvertently getting it. I did however see a huge improvement when I cut out other things like tuna and grapefruit. I used to have pain in the 8s-9s for days after eating them and now I am stabilize around a 3-4. I’d be very interested to hear how it works for you. To be honest I didn’t really expect any improvement. I was just desperate haha. So it was a pleasant surprise. I also rarely have headaches anymore.

      I would definitely recommend yoga. I do it privately. Classes were too rigoros for me. I do it waryorning and might and some times in between. I can now do things like ride my bike, garden and cardio if I do yoga before and after. Before my back would go into spasm without fail. I think yoga would relax my muscles.

      Please let ne know what happens with your testing.

      Good luck!!!
      M

  4. Vicki says:

    Oh, and a note on doctors. I think those with FM should probably give doctors some slack. My doctor, a great guy, looked at me one day and said “I’m so sorry but no one knows what causes fibromyalgia and no one knows how to fix it. And as a doctor, that is the most frustrating feeling ever. I want to fix you. That’s what doctors do. But I don’t have the answer.” And after working with lots of doctors, I know that is true. They don’t have the answers. It’s up to those of us with FM to keep searching and trying things and sharing what we learn.

    Vicki

Leave a Reply

