1 Week Corn Free. Feeling better!


It’s been a week since I cut corn (and a few other foods) out of my diet due to the results from my elisa / act delayed onset allergy test and I am excited to report that I am legitatmely doing  better.

I would first like to give another shout out to Dr. Ginevra Liptan and her book Figuring out Fibromyalgia.  I first heard about the test in her excellent book and despite being ridiculously poor decided to take a chance and get the test.

As you know from last weeks post, my results have been challenging.  Cutting corn and corn byproducts out of your life is ridiculously challenging but I’ve completely changed my eating habits (ie. making homemade everything from bread to pizza sauce to not eating out or eating anything made by anyone but me).  Because of this, I have been corn, black pepper, grapefruit, couliflour and brown rice free and in the words of a svelte Jennifer Garner, “I’m feeling good!.”

I’m sure you’ve seen the flower pictures all over my site and have figured out that I love to garden.  One of the things I miss the most since moving in with John is my garden.  I knew I wanted to start a new (and smaller) garden at John’s house but have been hesitant because I didn’t want my garden to come at the expense of my health.

I brought plants over from my house and was planning on having John help me with the digging but in typical Margo fashion I decided not to wait and four hours later my new garden was underway.  Even as I was working I knew I was making a mistake and would regret it later.  Anytime I did even half that amount of work I’d end up spending the next few days lying on a heating pad unable to move.

Unbelievably when I woke up the next day I felt surprisingly fine.  I was a little stiff (which is fairly typical for me) and did my morning yoga on the porch (best way to do yoga ever!) Afterwards as I was admiring my new garden it dawned on me that I wasn’t dying from the pain.  In fact I was dying at all… AND I hadn’t had a headache in almost 5 days.  Was that even possible?  I’ve been taking advil almost every day for longer than I can remember.  Let me tell you how worried I was when I found out that advil had corn in it.  I didn’t think I’d be able to handle the headaches without my go-to pain killer.

There were only two things I did differently this time than every other time I overdid I.  1. I did yoga immediately after I finished gardening and 2. I cut all of my delayed onset allergy triggers out of my diet a week ago.

My pain has gone from an average of a 4 in the am and a 6 in the evening to a 2 in the am and a 4 in the pm.  I’m excited to see how I feel a few weeks from today and don’t worry, I’ll let you know.

Yours in health,

m

This entry was posted in Coping Strategies, Day to Day, Diet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1 Week Corn Free. Feeling better!

  1. jen says:

    I think this is so interesting. Has the diet change helped energy or has it helped pain? I’m curious about getting the test but afraid of how long my list would be of what I can’t eat 😉

    • Margo says:

      Hi Jen. It has helped with the pain – which surprised me. The biggest thing I noticed is that I no longer feel like I have the flu all the time. I also lived with a daily headache that has completely disappeared. This is the first time that I haven’t taken advil every day in a year. In fact I haven’t taken any pain medicine in over a week. As far as energy, I’m not sure. I started taking Super B compex vitamin that really helped and started sleeping better so my energy was pretty good. I’m just now starting to notice that my muscles aren’t as sore. Honestly, I feel better now than I have in probably 2 years.

Leave a Reply

