My Carpal Tunnel Cure!


strawberry pot

I’ve had Carpal Tunnel Syndrome in both my wrists for awhile with the most pain and numbness in my right hand.  Unlike most people, I don’t get carpal tunnel from working on a computer.  I get it from life.  Sigh.  I have a section on my blog called Help the Symptoms and I talk about what I’ve been using to help my Carpal Tunnel.  I added an exciting update on my page about the technique that I’m going to talk about here.  I found that I have essentially cured my Carpal Tunnel!

If you think you might have it, some of the symptoms I experience are pain and numbness in my hand.  Pain also runs up my arm.  An interesting quirk is that when your fingers go numb, your pinky does not.  Another way to test for it is to tap the wrist with the fingers from your other hand and see if your fingers on your affected hand go numb.  I had an especially hard time at night before I used my Futuro Night Brace.  I would wake up in excruciating pain and numbness multiple times a night.  On top of that, I wore my Futuro Day Brace 24 hours a day for about 6 months.  Without it, my hand was constantly painful and numb.  Slowly, I believe with the help of the braces, my wrist calmed down and it wasn’t a constant annoyance.

You’re probably sitting here wondering why I’m blabbing about my experience and want to know what the amazing cure is!  Well here goes….

Me doing Downward Facing Dog Yoga Pose

I started doing Yoga sometime ago in an attempt to ease the pain in my muscles and I found Downward Facing Dog to be an extremely painful pose for my wrists.  I spoke to a teacher about it and she said that current studies are showing that this pose actually helps people with Carpal Tunnel.  Of course everything I’d read was that it was a bad pose for people with carpal tunnel.   I’m thinking, Really lady?  You’re freaking crazy.  If you had the type of pain I’m experiencing you wouldn’t be doing this pose…

Wrist Modification of Downward Facing Dog

That being said, she showed me how to modify it by putting a rolled up yoga pad underneath my wrists and it worked.  The pose was no longer painful and I could do it in classes and by myself.  I’ve been doing this pose 5-6 times a week holding for 10 second to 2 minutes at a time, several times a yoga session for about 2 months now.

I have some technique tips on my Yoga Page about Downward Facing Dog Pose.

In the picture to the left my yoga pad is much thicker than in my picture above.  When I began doing the pose and my carpal tunnel was at its worst, I used a very thick roll.  I gradually needed less padding and now use the amount in the picture above.  If you try this technique use the amount of padding that you need.  Listen to your body!

I didn’t even notice at first but just recently it dawned on my that my carpal tunnel is SO MUCH BETTER!  I’ve been so caught up in how crappy I’ve been feeling in other ways that I didn’t see the little changes that had been happening.  I still wear my day brace as a preventative at work but I no longer have to use it as a tool to make my numbness go away.  I used to carry it with me everywhere just in case and I realized that I no longer do that.  I’ve considered not wearing the brace to bed but I haven’t tried it yet.

It’s not an overnight cure – but what is?  I’ve accepted that Fibromyalgia is a road of trial and error with small successes that take awhile to show up.  I kept doing Modified Downward facing dog on faith and I’m really glad I did.  It’s all about the small victories which right now seem pretty freaking big!

Yours in health with numbfree hands!

m

This entry was posted in Coping Strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

