More info on the Elisa/act food intolerance test…


Yarrow

Yarrow

I recently posted a blog about food intolerance and it’s connection with Fibromyalgia.  In it I mention a test that I first learned about in the book “Figuring out Fibromyalgia,” by Dr. Ginevra Liptan.  In part of her book, she discusses Leaky Gut syndrome and how she believes it exacerbates the symptoms of Fibromyalgia.

I had never heard of Leaky Gut until I read her book and just assumed it was yet another syndrome connected with Fibromyalgia.  When I began discussing it with my doctor, he said that he didn’t believe in it.

Oh.

So this is another one of those Eastern vs. Western medicine debates.  Great.  Now I have to start researching this on my own and trying to decide if I believe in it or not…  Blah blah blah, more time wasted researching when all I really want is to feel better!  Deep Breath.  If you read my blog on food intolerance you already know all of this because I was basically talking out my thoughts on the matter.

After much thought, I finally came to a decision.  I do believe that there is a strong connection between what we eat and how we feel.  It’s a no brainer that every doctor would agree with.  It’s been proven that arthritis sufferers find relief from avoiding certain foods.  Clearly there is a connection.  Does this connection point towards Leaky Gut?  I’m not sure.  BUT!  That doesn’t really matter because I believe knowing how our bodies react to food is important and the whys, hows and syndromes connected to it can be damned.  The doctors can fight over Leaky Gut while I move on a focus on feeling better!

That being said, I’ve decided to get the Elisa/Act test to find out what intolerances I may or may not be suffering from.  Easy Peasy!

No.

That’s why I’m posting this blog.  To save you the day I spent trying to figure out how to get this damn test.

This test isn’t covered by insurance.  Western doctors don’t believe in it, remember.  So you don’t need a referral from your doctor – which is good since they probably don’t want you to take the test because they think you’re testing for something that doesn’t exist…

Luckily, we don’t need our doctors for this one!  (This is what took me so long to find out).  All you need to do is go to betterlabtestsnow.com.  I have my link going directly to their “tests” page on their site.  If you click on their “allergy tests” it will take you to the elisa/act options.  I am going to do the basic combination test for $312.50.  They will either come to your house to draw the blood (for $70) or you can go to one of their testing center.   I am going to go to a center.

I have decided that I am going to do this and will be sure to update you when I do.  At this point, I figure it’s worth a try and the $300 (sorry John).  When you spend every day of your life in pain, sometimes you have to search outside of the box to find relief.

Yours in Health (and hope)

m

This entry was posted in Coping Strategies, Diet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More info on the Elisa/act food intolerance test…

  1. SGM says:

    My sister-in-law has fibro and wow, she has such a hard time with it. She too has learned about several food intolerances and has recently eliminated gluten to help. Have you tried a probiotic? Our little boy has food allergies, and food intolerances that caused awful eczema and the one and only thing that has really helped him has been his probiotic. He has been taking Vidazorb chewables for two years now and his skin looks great plus he can eat so many more foods too! Hope this helps – check with you doc first of course!

  2. Margo says:

    Thanks SGM! I take acidophilus which works really well! How is your sister in law doing now that she’s gluten free?

Leave a Reply

