Food Intolerance and Fibromyalgia


snap dragon-esque annual

Everyone thinks they have the answer to making us feel better.  I’ve read the books written by Fibro Warriors who were a bedridden mess and now ride their bike to the grocery store.  Through various means they crawled out from the ashes and were reborn a stronger, healthier version of themselves.

The problem with all of these books is who do I listen to?

Another problem is that most of the methods employed by these warriors take time.  3 months… 6… sometimes even a year to see relief.  I find the advice given by the Warriors often conflicts.  If one warrior has trouble with water aerobics but another can’t live without it; does that cancel it out?  I don’t want to spend the next 10 years trying everyone’s theories…  I want to try to right theory, right now.  I am stymied.

There are a few core things that all Warriors discuss.  Exercise, stress reduction and proper nutrition.  It makes sense, they’re not giving us the golden ticket with this information.  Those are the three basic things the entire population needs to stay healthy. So how do we vary from Non-Warriors?

I’ve heard food intolerance and hypoglycemia tossed around a lot.  I’m trying to decide if I dig it.  I eat really well.  I dramatically changed my eating habits years ago in an attempt to feel better.  I eat lots of whole grains, more fruits and veges then your average vegetarians, limited red meat, never drink soda (unless I’m really nauseated) and drink tons of water.  Most of the nutrition tips given, I was already doing.

However, as far as food intolerance and hypoglycemia, who knows what I’m doing to aggrevate that, if indeed they are valid concerns?  Is food intolerance causing my flu like achiness and exhaustion?  Some people suggest nightshades are a no no because they have a negative effect of arthritis sufferers.  If that’s true, I’m pretty screwed.  If you didn’t know, some of the nightshades veges are tomatoes and potatoes.  Oops.

So do I dramatically change my diet to test the theory?  Of course, I got a book about this too.  Eliminating food and reintroducing is a difficult challenge because it’s not as easy to figure out what you have issues with unless you spend a year eliminating and reintroducing food.  Another problem is that messing with my diet plays hell on my ibs.

I’ve heard about the Elisa/Act test which is a blood test that tests for all sorts of food and chemical allergies.  I’m debating getting this test.  Of course, it’s not as easy and you would think.  First of all, you need someone to draw your blood and send it to the lab on this website.  They are the ONLY lab conducting this test and your doctor probably thinks that food intolerance is a bunch of hooey and this entire procedure is a waste of their time and your money.  And of course, this test isn’t free.  First you need to go to a naturopath, a doctor who believes in the bodies ability to heal itself with the help of herbs and other non-traditional (ie. non-western) medicine.

So.  You need to pay the naturopath (I have no idea if they accept insurance) and then you have to pay for the test which is somewhere around $300.  Then you have to go back to the naturopath (which will probably cost you again) and discuss your results and formulate a plan.  ie. stop eating all the food you enjoy with the hope that you’ll start to feel better.

hmmmm

Now you see why I’m not sure which way to go with this one.   I’m not gonna lie, I’m very curious about it but the price is holding me back.  I’ve always said you can’t put a price on your health but this goes back to the whole – who do you listen to?  I’ve heard several Fibro Warriors discuss eliminating certain foods and feeling better.   Of course most of the time they’re eliminating carbs, which makes me want to shoot myself in the face.

So here I am writing about it instead of making a decision.  Normally when I don’t want to make a decision on something it’s because somewhere deep down I think it’s a bad idea.  I’m not sure if that’s what’s happening right now and I guess only time will tell.

Besides, I’m eating pizza tonight.

Yours in Health,
m

This entry was posted in Coping Strategies, Day to Day, Diet, doctors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Intolerance and Fibromyalgia

  1. SGM says:

    My sister in law has fibro and chronic fatigue and has learned that some of the symptoms have gotten worse due to food intolerances. I highly recommend a good quality probiotic like the one we take! Our son’s food intolerances and severe eczema were helped dramatically by taking Vidazorb chewables! Love them!

Leave a Reply

